Annual Dinner-Women of Achievement

2020 Women of Achievement Dinner

At the January Executive Board Meeting, Deborah Thomas was selected to be our 2020 Woman of Achievement. Deborah was nominated by our past president Joyce Brown and Deborah Thomas was chosen as she has greatly contributed her time, talent, and support to the youth of Rockland County. The dinner will be held on Wednesday, May 20th from 6:00 – 9:00 PM. More information is forthcoming.

2019 Women of Achievement Dinner Honoring:

Kathy Galione

On May 15, 2019, forty-nine AAUW members and friends honored our Woman of Achievement, Kathy Galione who is a Rockland County Youth Program Coordinator for the Conservation and Service Corps. The Dinner was held at the Nyack Seaport and many of Kathy’s friends and family were in attendance. AAUW member Phyllis Morena who has nominated Kathy, introduced her. Kathy gave a very inspiring presentation on her work with Rockland’s youth. We were pleased to welcome NYS President, Janice Brown who came and installed our new officers. Mary Lou Davis, another past AAUW NYS President was also in attendance. Karen Martin, our newly appointed NYS Membership VP did a marvelous job serving as our Mistress of Ceremonies. We thank the dinner committee which included: April Biggs, Sandy Blasy, Elda Graff, Ellie Grossman, Karen Martin, Sandy Masiello, Sylvia Miller, Bach Tuyet Pham, Charlotte Sorger and Kathleen Sullivan.    Visit the Branch photos tab for pictures of the event.

2018 Women of Achievement Dinner Honoring:

Sister Cecilia LaPietra

Despite heavy winds and rain, 58 hearty AAUW members and guests attended our Annual Dinner held at the Nyack Seaport Restaurant.   Sister Cecilia LaPietra, the founder and director of the One to One Learning was our honoree and Woman of Achievement. We wish to thank our MC, Edwina Martin who travelled from lower Manhattan and Mary Lou Davis, past NYS president who travelled from Lagrangeville, near Poughkeepsie to conduct our installation of officers. We also wish to thank our committee: Sylvia Miller, Bach Tuyet Pham, Sandy Blasy, Kathleen Sullivan, Dorothie Flieger, Charlotte Sorger, Elda Graff, and Sandy Masiello. A good time was had by all.

2017 Women of Achievement Dinner Honoring:

Sylvia Miller

Sylvia Miller

Thank you to the Dinner Committee headed by Sandy Masiello, and committee members: Dorothie Flieger, Sandy Blasy, Ellie Grossman, Bach Tuyet Pham, Kathleen Sullivan, and Charlotte Sorger for a wonderful evening at our Woman of Achievement Dinner. It was outstanding!

Several Attending Guests:

Many thanks and a special shout out to our Woman of Achievement Dinner Photographer…   MANNY GUEVARA

Manny is a former National Geographic photographer and works in and around Rockland County.